Gaiam Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Gaiam.

CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand

Eliminates 99.99% of viruses and bacteria, without toxic chemical cleaners
Overall rating:
4.421 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Review 1 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromGeorgia, USA
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Very pleased!

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
I bought this primarily to sanitize stuffed animals, sofas and throw pillows. A few items that I used it on had a slight odor and after using the wand, the odor was gone. Amazing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromBrookfield, WI, USA

difficult to evaluate

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
I gave it a 4 star only because it is easy to use.  Without some sort of black light to see before and after germs it is difficult to judge it.  
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromWilmington, NC, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month

A wand that purifies with light

PostedAugust 18, 2014
The UV wand is almost magic! I won't know the final effect until my home is rid of fungal spores, which it does not claim to kill but I'm experimenting. The wand is one more tool in our effort. I'm also using an all-over UV air purifier which I move from room to room. The only improvement I'd make on the wand, and this was also discussed by an earlier reviewer, is that it barely works on vertical surfaces such as the back of a couch or chair, curtains, etc. I found that if you tilt it slightly, it will work but it's very slow and you have to control your arm and grip while waiting to cover the surface in question, which is tiring. Still, I recommend the wand as a concentrated way to reach nooks and crannies, and focus on flat surfaces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromFLORIDA
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:6-12 months

USEFUL WAND TIPS

PostedAugust 9, 2012
THANK YOU TO GAIAM FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO SHARE SOME WAND INSIGHTS WITH OTHERS.
SOME KEY POINTS ARE AS FOLLOWS: 1) AT CERTAIN ANGLES/POSITIONS, THE LIGHT TENDS TO FLICKER AND YOU HAVE TO BE V--E--R--Y STILL TO KEEP THE LIGHT ON FOR THE DURATION.
2) THE BATTERY TAKES 4-5HRS TO F-U-L-L-Y RECHARGE SO 2 WANDS WILL BE REQUIRED FOR UNINTERRUPTED SANITIZATION.
3) A PADDED CASE WOULD BE A USEFUL ADDITION FOR TRAVEL PROTECTION AS WELL AS A CHARGER FOR THE CAR.
4) MOVEMENT OVER THE SURFACE TO BE SANITIZED SHOULD BE S---L---O---W AND STEADY.
5) GREAT DEVICE FOR THE REDUCTION/ELIMINATION OF INDOOR AND OUTDOOR CHEMICAL USAGE.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good!

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Product was delivered very quickly, and after only one night's use on our bedding, I woke feeling noticeably better, less congested, and refreshed. I anticipate using it on workout clothes, intimates, and all surfaces to kill bacteria.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fromatlanta, georgia
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

GREAT purchase

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
i'm really excited about this purchase! with all the publicity in the news about dust mites i'm using it on all my beds, pillows, etc. also i have pets so it will be interesting to see it's effectiveness when flea season comes around. thanks gaiam!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromBoston, MA
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Works Well

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Works really well... Was able to get rid of an odor in our apartment that was here prior to us moving in. Simple, easy and fast!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromSt. Louis, MO - urban

Great product

PostedMay 22, 2011
I was skeptical when I purchased this item but found it easy to use and noticed a difference in reduced allergies. My brother also noticed an improvement and he has asthma.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromOhio
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Excellent Purchase

PostedApril 7, 2011
This has to be one of the best creations ever for keeping a clean home. It destroys all sorts of harmful things without resorting to chemicals.
I got this primarily to control dust mites and mold as I'm allergic to both. I noticed a big difference after using the product. As another reviewer noted, the air just seemed cleaner and fresher. And, I feel more energetic and clear-headed.
Plus, it's great to know this kills germs and bacteria, too. I find myself using the wand on more and more things as I go along.
I wish I had found this product years ago!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromNaples, FL
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Clean Wave UV-C Sanitizing Wand

PostedMarch 18, 2011
Wanted to refresh my home for spring so ordered the Clean Wave Sanitizing Wand. Was easy to use and went over mattresses, pillows, sofas, kitchen counters, bath counters, tables, etc. Easy to use and handle. Did notice easier breathing and sleeping since then. Vacuum picked up after using the wand. Very subtle but profound difference!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromNW Indiana
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Good but could be better

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Works good I can notice a diffrernce in sleep quality since using it on the beds. there is one thing I don't like. It has an aoutomatic shut off if the wand is not held level, so you don't accidenlty shine it in you eyes. This makes it very hard to do large piesces of furniture, like couches, effectivly.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromPhoenix, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month

Peace of Mind

PostedDecember 22, 2010
The Sanitizing Wand has brought me Peace of Mind. Working in a hospital, makes one very aware of germs, disease and infection control issues. Handwashing is critical but it's been great to find a product that is easy to use and helps me to feel like I'm doing all I can to eliminate germs and disease and protect the health of my family.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

clean wave wand

PostedJuly 17, 2010
I have trouble keeping the light on. It works great when held level but if you hold it up the light goes out. I am not able to use it on curtains...plan to return and see if can get another does anyone else have this problem???
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from GaiamBy Customer Relations July 19, 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry your experience was not what you’d expected. It sounds like it's defective as we haven't had that comment from anyone else. We guarantee every product unconditionally, and we want you to be thrilled with your Gaiam purchase. If you would like to return this for a refund or exchange, please contact us by email at customerservice@gaiam.com or by phone at 1-877-989-6321.
Review 14 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Peace of Mind Against Mold

PostedJuly 6, 2010
When we discovered mold in our closet--ick!!--we began contemplating the dry cleaning bill and then we found this UVC wand. It seems to have averted the problem, and it also addresses dust mites and fleas, which our new puppy appreciates, too. Our whole house seems lighter, and we're breathing easier, literally!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clean state of mind

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Not sure if it's my imagination, but I can smell things are cleaner after wanding them. I love it works on many surfaces (and sizes) which is a blessing and a curse of realizing how many surfaces I think need cleaning.
Easy and lightweight to use, but feels substantial in the hand. I'm even considering buying the compact version! Highly recommend.
I rediscovered this article while early spring cleaning: http://bit.ly/cpPPC8
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromMontana
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Very helpful purchase

PostedMarch 3, 2010
I like this product and seems to do what it is built for. We have 2 dogs that sleep with us - on the sheets and pillowcases. Have used most AMs and have not had any allergic reaction to the dogs and what they carry. Also use on the mattress pad every time the sheets are washed. Does not take a lot of time and works well.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromPittsburgh, PA
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:less than a month

Cleans without harsh chemicals

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
I would say the only drawback to the wand is the length. I wish it were a little longer or at least had a longer UV area. After learning in microbiology class that UV light is a way to kill microorganisms, I bought this wand to clean pillows, mattresses, furniture, etc. I will say that the first night I slept on my pillow after cleaning with the wand, I woke up the next morning and was not stuffy--for the first time in what feels like forever.
It is quick, easy, harmless to the environment, and fairly inexpensive. I am glad I bought it. I just have to get used to cleaning a new way.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromLong Beach CA
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Screwed UP?

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
This product works exactly as reported. My only problem was that the screw over the battery compartment which must be removed to install the battery to use it was put in so tight, I almost had to send it back. Fortunately, I have a handy husband with the right tools to remove a stripped screw and save the day. If this is an isolated problem, no reason not to recommend a good product. If other people have the same problem, you need to know.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for CleanWave UV-C Sanitizing Wand
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product