Gaiam Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Gaiam
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for GreenWash Ball

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Gaiam.

GreenWash Ball

Overall rating:
4.76 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 25(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for GreenWash Ball
Review 1 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

clean clothes

PostedJune 30, 2012
I am using almost no detergent with this ball and getting clean clothes. I have not yet tried no detergent, but I imagine it wil be fine. This will save money as well as keeping more soap out of the water supply. I have ordered another one to keep on hand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly efficient

PostedJune 12, 2012
I was surprised, clean clothes, clean scent, no suds going into my septic, and therefore the earth. Not to mention the money I will save on detergent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromNC

Great Buy!

PostedMarch 30, 2012
I've been wanting to buy one of these, but not sure if one could really replace a laundry detergent. As soon as I got it (just happ 2 b spring cleaning), I put it to use and was very pleased with the results. No reason to start w/ clothes that might not show a diff- so w/ 3 kids, I went straight for their laundry. Lets be honest- young kids underwear, baseball pants & socks, t-shirts...they go in dirty and with the GreenWashBall, they came out clean and with a fresh smell. Not an overly, chemical infused, air freshener smell- but fresh. Saves money & chemicals- highly recommend!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

impressive item

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
I bought this to wash my newborn daughter's clothing. I am very pleased with it for cleaning her clothes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromStamford CT
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:1-3 months

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
I'm very picky about my laundry. I want to be good to the environment, but could never abandon hot water and occasionally, Tide. This ball, however, is absolutely remarkable. I only bought it because of the other good reviews. I mean, how could ceramic pebbles inside a ball work? But it does! Clothes look very bright and smell truly fresh, not perfumey. One warning: Don't get overly enthusiastic, as I did, and try skipping the rinse. I thought, "What's to rinse? There's no soap." I thought maybe the pebbles were magically absorbing all the dirt. But there's dirt in the water and a rinse cycle is necessary. That said, I couldn't recommend this product more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromNorwalk, CT
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

CLEANER THAN WITH DETERGENT!

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
My sister and I both bought GreenWash Balls at the same time, and independently, came to the same conclusion: Our laundry has never looked or felt cleaner. Her house is on city water, mine, well water. We are amazed and happy.
Someone mentioned skipping the rinse cycle and I'll try that today. Get this ball, you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frommalden,ma
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:over 5 years

green ball

PostedNovember 9, 2011
i had these in the past,they are so much better than liquid,easy to carry around an my wash comes out cleaner,so glad that GAIAM has them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromFort Wayne, IN
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:over 5 years

Given as a gift

PostedOctober 31, 2011
I have one. I've used similar products for more than 10 years. Years! I gave this one as a gift to my daughter. I wouldn't wash clothes any other way now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromPittsburgh, PA
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:1-2 years

Great Buy! Works Well.

PostedJuly 18, 2011
I've been using these balls for about 8 months and can't be happier. They work great and I can reuse the grey water in my garden, and I eliminate the rinse cycle because the clothes don't need rinsed. For very tough stains, like grass or blood, I still use peroxide or another cleaner and scrub first, and then throw into the wash. I would highly recommend these. I also used these balls to wash my gardening clothes - one pair of white shorts I sat in dirt for hours was particularly bad. I scrubbed the shorts without adding any additional stain fighters and threw them in. They came out completely clean!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromMaryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Not a bad deal

PostedJuly 11, 2011
This seems to get the clothes clean. I use a pretreater for stains and marks, and I use a small portion of scented detergent for loads of hot, sweaty smelly summer clothes. Basically, at least with my water, this does the job on smaller lighter soiled loads. And if I can do those sort of loads for a total of $30 for the next three years, I consider that a pretty good deal. I also love not having to throw so many detergent bottles in recycling anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromThe woods, ME
I have used this product for:less than a month

Great Ball

PostedJuly 6, 2011
This is great, get one. We notice no difference in clothing cleaning, except that we can skip the step of adding detergent. Our laundry comes out smelling fresh and feels clean. I had my doubts, but it works great and no more detergent going into our septic system. We've used it nearly a month and it's doing a great job for us. It does not do anything bad to the finish of our washing machine either. I feel that it might be okay in a top-loader, but we use it in our front-load washer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromVermont
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:less than a month

It does get the clothes clean

PostedJune 8, 2011
I have been looking at this product for years thinking, wouldn't that be great? but it can't possibly be so effective.
Finally, after being convinced by other reviews, I bought it. I have now used it for 6 loads, warm or cold water, whites or darks, and have been very pleased. The only reason I haven't given it highest reviews is I'm withholding judgment on value until I see how many washes it does, in fact, last for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromRaleigh, NC
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:6-12 months

Love this Ball!

PostedMay 24, 2011
I cannot believe that I used detergent for so many years not knowing about this ball. It works great. Gets everything clean without the detergent smell, or allergies (if you have them).
I will never go back to detergent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Absolutely Love It!

PostedApril 17, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this ball! I actually think it gets my clothes CLEANER than when I was using detergent. Really! They seem softer too. I've already shared with many co-workers and family, and plan to buy one for each of my children. And future wedding gifts...Bingo! There really shouldn't be a home without one! :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fromolive branch, Ms
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Works great

PostedApril 15, 2011
I've been using the Green wash ball for a month now. I'm getting the same results as when I used detergent but without detergent. I'm very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FromSavannah, GA
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Impressive! Got out BLUEBERRY JUICE!

PostedApril 7, 2011
I have very sensitive skin and in the past had to sometimes go to stores out of my way to find the one specific soap I could use. I was pleased to find a product that I could use that would last so long, and would not bother my skin.
At first I didn't notice anything about my laundry that was impressively different. Yesterday I used up all my white kitchen towels cleaning up spilled BLUEBERRY juice. I threw them in the wash right away, no pre-treating, with just the GreenWash Ball. The towels came out WHITE AS EVER! I couldn't believe it! No laundry soap I know of could have done that! I'm telling everyone I know!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FromBloomington, IN
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:1-2 years

Great while it lasts

PostedOctober 8, 2010
I bought this around Sept-Oct 2009 and thought it was the best thing since "all-natural/organic" clothes detergents, judging by how I rarely used any liquid/powder detergent during my laundry cycles if ever, at first.
Now, a year and hardly anywhere near "1,000 washes" later, it doesn't even clear a small, simple blood stain off my bed sheet, or even something as recent as a 2-day-old bodily discharge off my clothes.
I'm not sure how to feel about this lack of actual performance, given the fact that I've paid $29.00 (+ tax + shipping) for a year's worth of detergent-free laundry, instead of three-year's worth...
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromBlackstone, VA
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Fresh smelling clothes

PostedAugust 20, 2010
I have been using the Green Wash Ball for about 3 weeks (9 washes) and love it. No mess, no spilled powders or liquid.
My clothes smell clean and fresh and come out of the dryer softer than ever.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromVirginia
I have used this product for:1-3 months

PostedAugust 5, 2010
I wanted to see if I could cut down on detergent but keep the cleaning power. The GreenWash Ball seems to be doing a pretty good job. I think for stains I may need more but so far, for everyday wash, my clothes come out as clean as ever.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for GreenWash Ball
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so happy with product

PostedJuly 5, 2010
I'll never use detergent again
The Green wash ball cleans as well as any detergent, without all the chemicals. Things that required pretreatment using conventional methods, still do
it's the best investment anyone can make, both for the environment and your pocketbooK!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>