Gaiam Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Gaiam
Shop Back Care or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Ergonomic Seat Cushion

Ergonomic Seat Cushion

Sit up straight!
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
54 out of 61(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Review 1 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromCharlotte, NC, USA
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Lower Back Pain GONE

PostedAugust 22, 2013
I have two, major (major) lower disc issues -- so sitting in ANY office chair (no matter how ergodynamic it's supposed to be) for any length of time causes SEVERE lower back pain which then radiates down the back of both legs. I've tried EVERY kind of chair and back support known to mankind -- but this seat cushion WORKS!!!  The key? You MUST use it as shown (with the split facing the back of the chair) and you MUST place it at the  VERY FRONT of your chair and allow it to "tip you forward" a bit. You'll adjust to this angle within a short time (doing so shifts your weight onto your thighs).  Literally ALL pressure on your spine is GONE and GONE.  When used as I've described, the difference is felt IMMEDIATELY and it LASTS ALL DAY LONG.  I've spend hundreds and HUNDREDS  of dollars over a period of TWO YEARS on all KINDS of support devices and what-nots with absolutely no relief -- and was JUST ABOUT to purchase a pricey saddle-style chair when I found this chair pad and thought, "Let me try just ONE MORE pad to see if this works". I truly cannot believe this under $50 item has COMPLETELY CHANGED my ability to  work comfortably at my desk job. I'm not a whack-a-do,  I'm a 55 year old professional and I do not typically swoon over a product; but it is NOT an exaggeration to say this chair pad (used as described) has literally CHANGED MY LIFE.  Have lower back issues?  Buy this product!!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromMichigan, USA
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:less than a month

It works!

PostedMay 2, 2013
First seat cushion I've found wih the spine/coccyx cutout that actually suspends the tailbone above the surface of the chair. And it didn't smell bad so don't know what some of the commenters are talking about. Lower back pain was gone this am after using it at work all day yesterday in my "sit down" job. I'll be ordering one for my home office! Thank you Gaiam!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromCentral Texas
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:less than a month

Can't believe the relieve

PostedAugust 5, 2012
My husband has had back problems for years. He recently had both knees replaced and his back got worse from laying in bed and then doing all the leg exercises for rehab. He went back to work and just riding the 30 miles to and from work was horrible on his back. I bought this seat cushion for him and the 2nd day he had it he had to do 2 120 mile round trips and his back didn't bother him at all. He used it all week and no back problems. On Saturday he rode 30 miles into town with me in my car and before we got to town, his back was hurting. I am ordering a second pillow for the car so that he always has one to sit on. This pillow is amazing and I recommend it to all who have back problems.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromNorthern NJ
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:3-6 months

Finally, a winner!

PostedJune 18, 2012
I've been using this cushion for 3 months now, and I think I've finally found a winner. I've tried other posture-correcting cushions at my desk and computer, but I haven't had the the success that I've had with this one. It sits high, which keeps my shoulders down and relaxed (also great because I have long legs). It's soft enough to keep my sit bones from getting uncomfortable. And, most importantly, it keeps my spine and neck in good alignment. It may take a little while for each individual to find the right balance and position, but once found, it's great. This is the most comfortable that I've ever felt sitting at my desk for long periods.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromBillings, MT
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Love it!

PostedMay 19, 2011
User submitted photo
I have had a spinal cord injury for the last ten years as a result of a car accident... I decided to order this seat to use in the car to minimize the grinding of my sit bones. I am happy to say this product has reduced pain and I am completely satisfied with this purchase....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
FromToronto, ON, Canada
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:less than a month

So disappointed

PostedNovember 5, 2013
I read all the reviews before purchasing this product and was so excited about it. I have used it for over a week and it has caused me to have even worse back pain than I experience on a daily basis. I know it isn't the way I am using it because I have followed people's recommendations. It has caused my lower back pain to intensify. I am so disappointed. In addition with the shipping/customs fees for delivery to Canada it ended up costing me $80. There goes my hard-earned money on a product I can't use. Now I'm worried about the other products I have purchased for Christmas gifts.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet Tush

PostedMay 2, 2012
Releives the pressure on the tailbone and helps support your sit bones. I sit on it when I am sitting in bed using my laptop...I sit with better posture and no back pain!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful when sitting all day

PostedApril 18, 2012
My job involves a lot of sitting which has caused tailbone pain in recent years. This cushion has been very helpful in relieving that discomfort both at work while sitting on a hard-bottomed seat and at home while sitting on the couch and working on my laptop. My dog chewed up the first one and the pain came back so quickly that I sprung for a replacement. A bit pricey but well worth it in terms of pain relief!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorry I spent the money.

PostedMarch 29, 2012
I am a tall women and a size 12. The width of this cushion is for someone size 6 or under. I have constant sciatic nerve pain under my cheek and down the back of my thigh and was hoping this would help when sitting at my office all day. No such luck, do not waste your money on this.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from GaiamBy Customer Relations March 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry your experience was not what you’d expected. We guarantee every product unconditionally, and we want you to be thrilled with your Gaiam purchase. If you would like to return this for a refund or exchange, please contact us by email at customerservice@gaiam.com or by phone at 1-877-989-6321.
Review 10 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromLas Vegas, NV
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:3-6 months

Sooooo Comfy

PostedMarch 24, 2012
This cushion really helped my mom who was having major back issues and especially with her coccyx. We keep it in the car where she primarily uses it. Great size but most of all comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
FromStow, OH
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Just an expensive pillow

PostedMarch 16, 2012
I purchased this pillow because I have tailbone issues and thought perhaps the cutout in the back might be beneficial. The benefit of proper alignment, etc. was not why I bought the pillow, but because I have some back and hip issues, thought it seemed like a good idea. After using it in my office chair at work every weekday for 2-3 weeks I don't feel any difference in my back or hips. Nothing feels more aligned when I use this cusion. I also don't think it is memory foam (which is why only 2 stars for quaility). If it is, it is not like any memory foam I've seen or felt before (like in mattresses, toppers, etc.); I think it is just regular foam. Because I don't want to go through the expense and hassle of returning it and the cutout takes some of the pressure off my tailbone, I will keep it, but I don't feel it works as advertised and it isn't much more comfortable than a regular $5 piece of foam.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from GaiamBy Customer Relations March 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry your experience was not what you’d expected. We guarantee every product unconditionally, and we want you to be thrilled with your Gaiam purchase. If you would like a prepaid label to return this for a refund or exchange, please contact us by email at customerservice@gaiam.com or by phone at 1-877-989-6321.
Review 12 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable

PostedMarch 2, 2012
This cushion was just what I was looking for. It gave me a little extra height so I can sit at my computer more comfortably and it is just very cushy. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars all around is the dark color fabric shows all the dust and pet fur. A more neutral color or a different type of fabric would be preferred.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fromnortheast
Shopping Frequency:every month
I have used this product for:less than a month

still not sure if helps

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
I purchased two of these, one for car and one for home. I had to return car seat cushion as it gave me more pain. I tried it for a week but could not get comfortable. I have significant spinal issues. Not sure what to do about the other one yet. I imagine if you are in fairly good spinal shape it would help tremendously, just maybe not my best purchase here.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from GaiamBy Customer Relations February 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We have just switched to a new manufacture in the USA, so I hope the one you have was from our older factory. We’re sorry your experience was not what you’d expected. We guarantee every product unconditionally, and we want you to be thrilled with your Gaiam purchase. If you would like to return this for a refund or exchange, please contact us by email at customerservice@gaiam.com or by phone at 1-877-989-6321.
Review 14 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5

helps on long car rides

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
I've had back pain for years on long car rides and decided to buy this product based on it's good reviews. Nice surprise: It actually helped! Did one long trip since I got it and although my discomfort is not completely gone I had no pain and felt much better compared to other car trips. I have it in the driver seat for all rides now.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromSanta Fe, NM
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Great for Improving posture

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Very cushy, in fact so much so that it took a little getting used to. After a weeks time I realized that sitting up straighter in my chair was now very natural for me. Definite improvement in my posture. My sit-bones used to get so sore from sitting at the computer for hours on end but that is no longer the case. The velveteen blue cover is nicely made and removable for washing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromWallingford, CT
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Ease of Sitting

PostedDecember 28, 2011
I have to sit at least 8 hours per day, answering a phone. This has virtually eliminated the backache I used to have everytime I got up. It is very comfortable , and keeps me upright and in correct posture. I am very glad I bought it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromGrand Rapids, MI
Shopping Frequency:every month
I have used this product for:less than a month

This is like magic

PostedDecember 11, 2011
My doctor has been on me about posture and sitting at my computer all day since I first complained of neck pain 2 years ago. Tried everything, physical therapy, yoga stretchs, massage all of which involve more time that I have. This cushion is like magic, as soon as it arrived I tried it and I can't explain how great it is to have something that just naturally puts your body in the correct position. I am really happy with this and will be ordering one for the office too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromCA
I have used this product for:less than a month

Memory Foam Smells Terrible

PostedDecember 4, 2011
This cushion was comfortable, and made my straight-backed wooden office chair much better, but it was made of memory foam that offgasses terribly. Smelled like a mixture of cigarette smoke and chemicals - don't want it in my low-VOC home. Returned.
Gaiam, with its health-conscious image, shouldn't sell products with questionable health impacts like these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from GaiamBy Customer Relations December 5, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry your experience was not what you’d expected. We guarantee every product unconditionally, and we want you to be thrilled with your Gaiam purchase.
Review 19 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromKansas
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

fine cushion

PostedNovember 14, 2011
I would get up from my cubicle hardly able to walk. I love this cushion. It really helps!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ergonomic Seat Cushion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromDetroit
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Not regretting buying it but...

PostedNovember 8, 2011
I don't know if I'm using it correctly. I have a "designer" chair at work and it's supposed to be ergonomically correct (which it's not!) so it has a bunch of curves on the seat. I purchased this cushion to help with my lower back pain. I don't know if I'm using it correctly, or if the seat is too curvy because I still want to lean forward when sitting on it. Maybe I'll try it on different surfaces.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>