Gaiam Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea

Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea

Safe and effective prenatal practice modified for each trimester
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Review 1 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is great

PostedJuly 29, 2014
I have only done it during my second trimester but the pace and ease of directions makes this an enjoyable experience.  I feel like I will be able to do this up to delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replay Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good low-impact workout

PostedOctober 26, 2011
I really like that all three levels are demonstrated. I wish this video was a little more of a workout, I'm sure later in my pregnancy I'll appreciate that it's low-impact, but currently I find myself supplementing the video with gym workouts (I have always been very active though and my doctor ok'd the added exercise since my body is already accustomed to it). I think this is a great start for any level though, especially if you are not active, it's important for the baby to have some activity. This video is a great ease into stretching and readying your body for the coming changes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exellent DVD!!! Must have during the pregnancy.

PostedAugust 3, 2011
I love this video!!! I never did yoga before my pregnancy. I bought this video from Amazon based on others' reviews. This is a GREAT video.
I have been experiencing a lot of back and leg pain during pregnancy. This video rids me of that pain, and helps to get rid of my slight ankle swelling.
As a cross-training-type person, I thought that anything that didn't make me break into a vigorous sweat couldn't be beneficial. This video has broken this belief for me. I have really gained a lot of strength and flexibility from this video.
First off, Shiva Rea's voice is so incredibly soothing, she makes you feel like you're getting a massage. The music and set are peaceful and calming. The overall production is relaxing.
The mood is set with mediation and warm-ups. Then there's standing work, floor work, stretch, and guided relaxation. Kegels are worked into various sections. Each section is subdivided, so you can do only part of each if you like.
Traditional poses are covered, such as planks, downward dogs, triangle pose, etc. (I don't know much about yoga.) Instruction is clear and understandable. Breathing is always kept at the forefront, with Shiva's never forgetting to tell you when to inhale and exhale.
There's one person representing each trimester, demonstrating the recommended modifications for each trimester. As I've found as I've gone along, these variations are very helpful.
This is a great video. Do not do pregnancy without it. Start lightly and build up if you need to, but you have to get this video for prenatal exercise. It helps me with my pains, and makes me feel relaxed. I really feel like I have gotten a massage after I finish this video.
The last thing I'll say is that there are little moves in the video that I've been able to do at work to alleviate some of my aches. I highly recommend this DVD, even if only for Shiva's voice and the soothing music that accompany it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replay Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromBoston, MA
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:3-6 months

Tough but good

PostedJune 1, 2011
When I was pregnant, my OB was extremely relaxed about everything I did but the only thing she told me not to do was any kind of tummy tightening. I was so nervous about that after, so I decided to do this prenatal yoga and just be careful with any tummy stuff. It is tough (depending on your fitness level of course, & I was at that point I'd say between beginner to intermediate) but made me feel so great after, relaxed as well as feeling like I did something great for me & my baby! I think yoga is great for any time in your life, and there's something to fit any fitness level and time in your life, and this prenatal yoga fit the bill for me! I do recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Content 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromNew Mexico
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Great DVD

PostedJuly 13, 2010
I bought this for my wife and she loves it. The breathing exercises are great as well as the yoga. Shiva Rea has a bit of a blank stare the whole time but does a great job.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Content 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromBoston
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:6-12 months

I'm Smaller than I was pre-pregnancy!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
When I became pregnant with my 5th child, my husband and I were very happy. I do recall suffering from backaches and pains and was not looking forward to it. My 3rd pregnancy, we went out and purchased a very expensive mattress set thinking that would be the solution to my problem. It was only temporary. During my OB appt. one of the RNs recommended Yoga to me. I was also concerned that I had not lost all of my "baby weight" from my previous pregnancy and I had gained a lot of weight on birth control. I began the workout DVD toward the end of my 1st trimester. I worked out with the DVD 4 to 5 times a week and walked on my treadmill 1-2 a week. One thing I noticed immediately....no back pains. I also really enjoyed the relaxation part and the fact that I would actually fall asleep right on the mat! The exercises were easy but you still felt a "good stretch" in certain poses. I also liked the fact that you are able to watch different variations of the poses from the various different women on the DVD just in case you need to modify. Moreover, it is VERY relaxing! (Great for us moms with multiple children. The DVD really gives a peace of mind.) Pre-pregnancy, I was 184lbs. While working out with this DVD, I only gained 10lbs and my son was 8lbs. 7oz. (I was also not on a restricted diet and never had gestational diabetes.) I ate when I was hungry, I ate what I wanted, and I drank lots of water. When I went to my six week check up, I was 156lbs!!! My pre-pregnancy clothes are TOO BIG!! I am amazed! I also had a C-section so I was not able to do any sort of workout during those 6 weeks. During my workout regimen, I did begin to feel "leaner" but with an every growing abdomen, you really don't see it. However, I see it now!! I am very happy and pleased with my results. I am feeling more like myself now and I am now back to purchase another Yoga DVD. This DVD is for all mommies to be in all beautiful shapes and sizes.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replay Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Content 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FromNorth of Houston, Tx
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

great for beginner or relaxation

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Even if you're fit and used to doing more involved/physical yoga, this dvd is worthy for it's breath, bloodflow, and opening benefits. I was looking for something prenatal that was safely CHALLENGING and toning as well. This one is not challenging, but will be good to have around for late second/third trimester.
She has easily defined sections which make it easy to jump to certain sections if you don't wish to do entire practice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Content 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful purchase

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
This video is wonderful! This is my first pregnancy and I was afraid to continue my regular yoga practice at home without instruction from a professional. This video is perfect and gentle enough to do on your own. I love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Content 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromSouthern California
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:3-6 months

A back saver!

PostedJanuary 15, 2010
I don't know what I would have done without this yoga video. My backpain started in the 3rd month of pregnancy and nothing worked to relieve it. Then I bought this video and like magic...relief. In my 6th month now and I can still complete each pose and feel great when I finish. I will be sharing this with all my friends when they are pregnant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Content 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromBerkshire County, MA
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Great video and easy to follow

PostedDecember 11, 2009
I am on my second pregnancy and for my first I didn't stay very active. I was so swollen and miserable, and then I had to go through a 30 hour labor. I promised myself that the second time around I was going to get into prenatal yoga. I ordered this soon after I found out I was pregnant and have been using it since. I love it! And even though I have never done yoga in my life, this video is very easy to follow. I have a feeling that this is going to help me succeed in having a healthy pregnancy and hopefully a faster delivery!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Content 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromCharlotte,NC
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:less than a month

U will never regret if you buy

PostedNovember 16, 2009
I bought this prenatal Yoga-Shiva Rea in Nov...I tried it few times. This is a really a good yoga video which contains 4 type 1) Meditation 2)Standing poses 3)Floor work 4)Relaxation. This is very easy to understand also. I definitely u will get benefit on this prenatal yoga video. I am planning for next purchase from GAIAM.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Content 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:1-2 years

Prebaby no exuse dvd

PostedNovember 2, 2009
This was my first real introduction to yoga. When I first did it I thought it was so low impact with seemingly disproportionate results. Its easy to do and you don't have to 'get yourself in the mood' or 'pep yourself up' to be able to do it-so I had zero exuse not to do it ever! I found I used this one more often than the others AND if I did not do it my back pain (which had almost completely disappeared) would reappear.
I've used this postnatal for months which HAS indeed been beneficial until I choose new yoga dvd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Content 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!!!!!

PostedOctober 27, 2009
I was pregnant w/my first child when I got this video as a babyshower gift at first I was not interested in using it but I found that later on down my pregnancy I would need it. It was great to relieve stress and I feel it really did help with my labor because it was a breeze. Since Ive had my son ive bought this as a gift for other friends as a babyshower gift as I once recieved myself. I could honestly say that it made being pregenant so much more enjoyable. When and If I get pregnant again I will be using this video as soon as I find out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replay Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Content 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good purchase

PostedOctober 22, 2009
The video is a great way to relax and stretch on my off-days of prenatal yoga classes. Easy to follow instructions for different stages of pregnancy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Content 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful stretches!

PostedOctober 18, 2009
I've been using this for 3 months now and I'm almost in the 3rd trimester. I love the stretches in this video; they really help with the lower back pain! It's not too difficult and you can modify poses if you need to. The relaxation session is great at the end too!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replay Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Content 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good prental workout

PostedMarch 9, 2009
I loved this dvd, I bought this while it was still a kit (mat, block, band, dvd). The workout was great, but my dvd quit working after I had my baby, so I wasn't able to use the postnatal part, I was pretty disappointed. So I bought the Total body challenge pilates and that is fabulous!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replay Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Content 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromPA
I have used this product for:6-12 months

felt good during pregnancy

PostedDecember 27, 2008
I did this DVD during my first pregnancy. I remember wondering why someone would need to make so many modifications, but then I did the DVD the day before I gave birth and I found out! Shiva Rea is a good instructor and I felt very centered and relaxed when doing this DVD. It was great preparation for labor. My midwife even asked me in the middle of labor if I did yoga, because I was so flexible (got down into a low squat.) I would definitely recommend this DVD to friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Content 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedOctober 5, 2008
I used this during my pregnancy from the third month to the day before I delivered. All the poses shown were very useful when I delivered my baby - they worked the areas of my body that were most needed durning labor. They also kept my muscles toned so I believe following this DVD made my recovery faster. Excellent choice and I would recommend this to any woman who is pregnant.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replay Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Level of Difficulty 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Content 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it all three trimesters!

PostedJuly 3, 2008
I bought this for my first pregnancy and just dug it back out for my second. Wonderful, easy-to-follow modifications for all three trimesters. I always felt wonderful after each workout.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Prenatal Yoga DVD with Shiva Rea
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product