Gaiam Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Gaiam
Shop Back Care or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Inversion Table

Inversion Table

Stretch out spinal compression safely and easily.
Overall rating:
3.917 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
18 out of 24(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Inversion Table
Review 1 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromVirginia
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Inversion Table

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
We just received our inversion table and were very pleased with the quality of construction and the ease of assembly. Using the table was also a snap as well except for the dog licking my face when I'm inverted. Sorta confusing for the dog.
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent purchase

PostedAugust 30, 2011
I am a 64 year old woman with degenerative disease of the spine. I try and stay as active as possible but still have some numbness in legs and back pain from time to time. I was advised to try an inversion table and purchased this one from Giam. Easy to put together and even easier to use. No problems with getting on or off the table.. If used every day, I have experienced no more numbness in legs. It is very relaxing - I use early in AM and before bed at night.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Inversion Table

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Love it! Due to two medical conditions, my body needs to invert, and I use the table pretty much every day, so far. I love the feeling of my body stretching out, but then I was one of those kids that liked to hang on bars, too.
For some reason, it is easier for me to do abdomen crunches when I'm upside down, too, and I sometimes play around with arm strengthening by "rocking."
I feel more energized and balanced, as a bonus.
The directions could be a bit better. The person who helped me set it up couldn't figure out where the safety bolt went, so it is still not in. However, I feel safe.
(I did wait for a sale.)
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromSand Diego, CA

changed my life!

PostedJuly 28, 2010
I was a bit skeptical about inversion tables before purchasing, but now I don't go a day without inverting, thanks to this fabulous product. It has changed my life! I use to have back problems that caused me to be a regular at my chiropractor’s office. Now, all I have to do is invert for a few minutes each day, and I feel fabulous - no more pain, no more chiropractors. I highly recommend this product..it will save you time and money!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromSt Paul, MN
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

A lifesaver!

PostedJuly 27, 2010
The Inversion Table has literally saved my back. Years of manual labor took its toll, but after owning this table for only a few months i already feel healthier and more aligned. I used it every day at first but now i don't need it all the time -- just a few inversions a week keep me upright and feeling great. Highly recommended for anyone with tightness or slumping in their back.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromBroomfield, CO
Shopping Frequency:every month
I have used this product for:3-6 months

Best Purchase Ever -- Changed my Life!

PostedJuly 1, 2008
Before I bought this product, I was receiving deep tissue massages every other week and going to the osteopath once monthly. Those techniques were moderately successful -- and very short-lived. Not to mention expensive! I received my table and set it up immediately. It was daunting at first, looked like a tough assembly process -- don't be scared off. It took only 1 hour to assemble. I started using the table 2x per day; I would crave it every day at work around 3 pm after sitting in my desk chair all day. I use the table once per day for maintenance; in the 3 months I've had the table, I've had only one massage, and that was for relaxation -- not need! It took a few days to be comfortable with blood rushing to my head and my eyes bulging out. My inversion table was the best purchase ever.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Help on construction

PostedMay 2, 2013
The first reviewer wrote:
"For example, there is a part called adjustable hook spacer, which has three different settings. I'm 5'1" tall. Which hole is best for someone my height? "
I have a 15 year old inversion table from Living Arts that was the precursor to the current model.  Back in those days, the instruction manuals were better.  Unfortunately, I've lost the manual, but I clearly remember that it said that only one of these three holes was recommended, and that the recommendation was independent of your height --- basically everyone should use the recommended hole and ignore the others. 
Sadly, I've forgotten which was the recommended hole, except that I'm sure it was not the middle one.  The folks at Gaiam were incredibly helpful in trying to track down this info for me, but in the end, nobody could find the 15 year old manual.
However, a series of experiments suggests to me that the hole you want is the one farthest from the protrusion that fits into the stand.  
I had hoped to leave this as a comment on the first review, but that doesn't seem possible, so here it is in case it helps anyone.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromCherokee Co., NC
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Great table but little instruction

PostedJune 17, 2012
I just put my table together. Not too difficult, but the instructions were a bit difficult to follow. The instructions are all pictures, so if you can't follow those types of directions, have someone help you interpret them.
I only gave it three stars on 'ease of use' because even though I got it together, there were no directions on best/recommended settings for different heights and weights. For example, there is a part called adjustable hook spacer, which has three different settings. I'm 5'1" tall. Which hole is best for someone my height? Considering the $20 ball comes with an instructional DVD, I would expect the $250 table to come with some kind of 'how to use this effectively' instructions!
I also found the safety strap a bit of a challenge. Since I am so short, I've had to adjust the safety strap to the very smallest I could make it to maintain the 45-degree angle my doc recommended. I may look into getting additional safety straps made so that when my 6'2" tall hubby uses it, he actually rotates past 15-degrees since my adjustments make the strap too short for him to use.
Other than those two concerns, I love this table. My L2, L3 and L4 disks are all bulging, so this has really alleviated the pressure on the nerves, making my life much less painful.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inversion table

PostedMarch 3, 2012
I think the product is fine, but there was little information on how to use it. I had to find resources on the web from other sources. Also the product arrived with missing tools and nuts, but Gaiam did send it out quickly.
It was easy to put together.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First impression

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
My table arrived two days ago (ahead of schedule!), and last night I began the project of assembling it. The directions are not as clear as they could be, but I managed to have everything set up in about 2 hours without assistance. A second set of hands would have been helpful, though.
My biggest complaint is a safety issue. The metal plate on the back of the Achilles support piece is VERY sharp around the edges! I sliced open a finger on it, and decided to line the edges with duct tape to prevent any further accidents.
Once the table was assembled, I was eager to try it out. It was not overly difficult to use, but I could see how some people may have trouble returning to an upright position, so I'd advise having a friend or family member nearby on your first attempt!
It may take some getting used to, but my ankles were a little bit sensitive to the pressure after the first couple of minutes. However, I could REALLY feel my body lengthening and loosening, and felt much less soreness this morning than I typically do.
Overall, I'm optimistic about this product, and will try to remember to write an update to this review later on.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great results

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Very easy to use. Very effective for my back and my fear to do yoga inversion poses.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromSanta fe, NM

Great Inversion table

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Gaiam Inversion Table works like a charm. There are many independent studies about the health benefits of inversion therapy for back pain,circulation and posture. The concept has been around for centuries with great success all over the world. Dr. Andrew
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5

still not up to par

PostedJuly 10, 2011
I have waited years to order this item because of the bad reviews. Lately, people have been having an easier time putting this item together and we went ahead and took a chance. It did not pay off. This item arrived with parts missing, rusted end pieces, inexplicable instructions i.e. instruction booklet stapled out of whack and difficult to read. After several hours, we have not been able to put this item together. Please do not offer to take this item back, the price of shipping it to you is too expensive. I don't know what to do... terrribly disappointed.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from GaiamBy Customer Relations July 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry your experience was not what you’d expected. We guarantee every product unconditionally, and we want you to be thrilled with your Gaiam purchase. If you would like to return this for a refund or exchange (we will cover the shipping), please contact us by email at customerservice@gaiam.com or by phone at 1-877-989-6321. We can also have another manual sent out in the chance that you received an old copy.
Review 14 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromHartford, Connecticut
Shopping Frequency:every 2 to 3 months
I have used this product for:1-3 months

Liking My Purchase

PostedApril 14, 2011
I recently purchased my Inversion Table and am very pleased I did. It was really quite easy to put together. Some of the reviews said it was difficult to assemble but I found it just the opposite. I have used it almost every day since I assembled it and it seems to be a good addition to obtaining a healthy body.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

A Challenge but Worth It

PostedMarch 8, 2011
The incline table is sturdy and seems to do its job well, providing relief for back pain. My husband is an inch taller after using it. It came in pieces, but with the new instructions was not difficult to put together. However, the packing was atrocious. Our first shipment seemed to be missing several pieces and the tools to put the table together. A second shipment was sent, with small pieces put in a small box in the bigger box rather than scattered in the box like the first shipment. When I got the table together and tried it out, I heard something rattling on the inside of the table. Yes, there were the original tools and extra piece, which I had missed even though I shook and felt the table during my first search. It is also heavy and awkward to move, requiring a fair amount of space.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FromCape Cod
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Assembly a nightmare

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
The table works fine; for the price it's decent quality but assembly was a HUGE PAIN!! The nuts & bolts were strewn all over the place - would it have been so hard to put them in a bag??? A couple of nuts weren't even included. Directions were so so. It took my husband almost three hours to put this together and he regularly tears apart appliances and puts them back together. the worst thing was that he was feeling around the table for the missing nuts and there was a BOX CUTTER RAZOR left inside the table cover and he cut his finger quite badly. I think the company should be responsible for better quality control. Because of my husbands injury I would NEVER recommend this to a friend.
That being said, it works as advertised for stretching the spine.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I Expect More From GAIAM

PostedDecember 27, 2010
We purchased an inversion table. The instructions were poorly illustrated, especially for inexperienced assemblers.
When I opened the box, I found some of the bolts, nuts and washers were strewn about while others were partially installed.
There are very sharp edges around the holes for the strap and the achilles adjuster bar so be careful.
I used a dremel tool to remove the sharp edges.
When assembled, the unit feels sturdy, however, it costs too much for an average quality Chinese made product.
I expected more from GAIAM, especially since they produce the product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Response from GaiamBy Customer Relations December 29, 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry your experience was not what you’d expected. We guarantee every product unconditionally, and we want you to be thrilled with your Gaiam purchase. If you would like to return this for a refund or exchange, please contact us by email at customerservice@gaiam.com or by phone at 1-877-989-6321.
Review 18 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromMissouri
Shopping Frequency:once a year
I have used this product for:less than a month

assembly

PostedAugust 20, 2010
I almost cried when we opened the box. Several plastic bags filled with screws and nuts and bolts etc. were zip tied to several parts of this. My husband should have been put on your payroll for several hours. This much assembly is not something you put on a customer! And a few things simply weren't made accurately enough to fit together. We had to bend and force one connection and another...well we should have sent it back because it just doesn't fit securely, but by then it was almost assembled. Poor instructions with poor illustrations.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from GaiamBy Customer Relations August 23, 2010
We have improved the manual and it is now being sent out with the product. If you have this item and need better instructions please email ProductSpecialist@Gaiam.com and we can get that sent out to you. Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry your experience was not what you’d expected. We guarantee every product unconditionally, and we want you to be thrilled with your Gaiam purchase. If you would like to return this for a refund or exchange, please contact us by email at customerservice@gaiam.com or by phone at 1-877-989-6321.Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re sorry your experience was not what you’d expected. We guarantee every product unconditionally, and we want you to be thrilled with your Gaiam purchase. If you would like to return this for a refund or exchange, please contact us by email at customerservice@gaiam.com or by phone at 1-877-989-6321.
Review 19 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromMissouri
Shopping Frequency:every 4 to 6 months
I have used this product for:less than a month

Nearly Impossible Assembly

PostedAugust 17, 2010
We started assembly and found the directions impossible. Fortunately we called and got a new set of directions, but it still wasn't easy. The Inversion Table is great, but I'm not sure I would recommend the product due to the assembly problems.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inversion Table
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FromLafayette, CO

Relief in minutes

PostedJuly 28, 2010
This inversion table is so easy to use. The handles make it easy to get into position, the height adjustment is clear and simple to change, and the ankle support feels very secure. I love the feeling of space it provides my spine. After I've inverted, any tightness in my lower back or neck and shoulders is gone, my body feels more fluid, and I have more energy. It's awesome!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>